Teachers Workshop

Day 1

Theme – Transforming Science Education Through Films
Location: Auditorium One - Marquinez Palace
Date: 18/01/2019
Timings: 09:30 AM to 5:00 PM
SessionTimingsFilm Title
Inauguration 09:30 AM - 10:30 AMChief Guest: Shri. Nakul Parashar, Director, Vigyan Prashar.
Guest Honor: Prof. Gopal Mugrela, Director, NIT - Goa.
Chairperson: Smt. Nila Mohanan, Secretary, (Education), Government of Goa.
Special Guest: Shri. Jayantrao Sahastrebuddhe, National Organising Secretary, Vigyan Bharati.
Session One10:45 AM - 11:45 AMLaboratories: The Brain of Science.
Prof. Sharmistha Banerjee, University of Hyderabad.
Teaching Science: Right Mindset & Effective Delivery Approach.
Session Two12:00 PM - 1:00 PMProf. Lakshman Nandagiri, Department of Applied Mechanics & Hydraulics, NITK, Suratkal.
Lunch Break (1:00 PM to 2:00 PM)
Session Three2:00 PM - 3:.00 PMScientific Temper: The Foundation of Science.
Dr. Saidi Reddy Parne, Associate Professor,
Department of Applied Sciences, NIT – Goa
Session Four3:15 PM - 4:15 PMTechnology: Source of Quality Science Content. Dr. Sreeraj E, Department of Electrical Engineering, NIT – Goa.
Session Five4:15 PM - 5:00 PMExperiments: The Heart of Science,
Dr. Ranjan Dey, Professor, Department of Chemistry, BITS-Goa Campus.

Day 2

Theme – Transforming Science Education Through Films
Location: Auditorium One – Marquinez Palace
Date: 19/01/2019
Timings: 09:30 PM to 4:30 PM
SessionTimingsFilm Title
Screening of Film09:30 AM - 1:45 PMKaasav (English: Turtle) is a 2016 Indian Marathi-language film releasing on 6 October 2017.
It has been directed by filmmaker duo Sumitra Bhave–Sunil Sukthankar and produced by 
Mohan Agashe in association with Bhave–Sukthankar's production company "Vichitra Nirmiti".
The film won the National Film Award for Best Feature Film at the 64th National Film Awards.
Session One
12:00 PM - 1:00 PMScientific Methodology: Working on Projects
Dr. Lidita Khandparkar, Scientist, NIO
Lunch Break (1:00 PM to 2:00 PM)
Session Three
2:00 PM - 3:00 PMPanel Discussion(Topic: Constructive Approach in Science)
Chair: Shri. Jayantrao Shastrebuddhe, National Organising Secretary, Vigyan Bharati
Concluding Ceremony3:00 PM - 3:30 PMConcluding Remarks: Shri. Srinivas Dempo, Chairman, Dempo House.
Science Popularization
Lecture Series
3:30 PM - 4:30 PMDr. Rajgopal Chidambaram, Padma Vibhushan and Former Principal Scientific Advisor to Government of India